Reviews

Vince Reyes
Belfast
15 Feb 2016
Des is the man! He's a great example of what a driving instructor should be. Gives his full attention during the lesson and doesn't use your own time for himself unlike other instructors. He has the sufficient equipment needed in order to give you his best service. He was very helpful because when you make mistakes, he explains it thoroughly and helps you understand it. All I can say is that he's a dedicated man to his job. And maybe that's why he's in the top 200 of all the driving instructors in the UK. And lastly, Des didn't just teach me to pass my test; he taught me how to drive safely and defensively. This is a great benefit for me in the long run. Wish that all of the driving instructors are like him. I can't thank him enough and would highly recommend to anyone! Worth your money and especially your time!


Jenni Byers
Belfast
11 Nov 2015
Des really is a great driving instructor, I had put off learning to drive for years due to lack of confidence and fear but decided it was time to bite the bullet!! It was the best decision, from the first lesson Des made me feel at ease even though I was very nervous! I had never even started a car up before so it was all new to me. Everything was explained clearly with diagrams helping me to realise what I was doing wrong! I can't think Des enough for his patience and way of explaining things. I can't believe I waited so long to start learning, I'd be lost without my wee car now!! If you are thinking of learning do it!!! :-).


Shelley Garner
Belfast
10 Nov 2015
I passed my test first time thanks to Des. I have had other driving instructors but none compare to Des. He is calm and takes the time to teach you at your own pace. I was quite nervous to start with but Des helped me to relax and enjoy driving, something I never thought would happen! The teaching aids that Des uses really compliment the learning experience and have made me a better driver. I really cannot recommended Des enough! Thanks you Des for helping me pass my test. He really is the best!


Aoibheann Baker
Belfast
7 Jan 2015
Des - the man's a legend. Des was my second driving instructor and once with DKL it became clear how poor my first instructor was!
Des is so knowledgeable and explained everything clearly making sure I always knew where I went wrong…. Which at times was alot. He has the patience of a saint and always reassured me when I needed it but was honest about my progress and gave me confidence in my abilities when I had none.

I love the little camera in the car that allowed me to see my mistakes when I hadn't even realised I'd made them or under estimated how bad they were - a real eye opener.

As previously said, Des doesn't simply teach you to pass your test he teaches you how to drive and the responsibility of being a driver.

Thanks to Des, I passed first time today, I can't rate him highly enough and have already been recommending to friends.


Sam McNirlan
Belfast
11 Dec 2014
I passed my test today thanks to Des.

When I was looking for a driving instructor, I googled "Driving Instructor Belfast reviews" and found DKL. I read the overwhelmingly positive and heartfelt reviews and thought I would give DKL a go, and after 30 hours of lessons I have to say the reviewers were spot on!

Des is always calm, patient and encouraging. He explains clearly why observations are so important and finds ways to illustrate the point to you, an example of this would be that on my first lesson, just as I was about to move off, Des asked me if I had noticed a man walking his dog, he then told me to check my blind spot, and for me the penny dropped, and I understood why the blind spot check is so important.

Another thing that struck me about Des is that he is not just teaching you how to pass the test, he is preparing you for your life on the roads and how to stay safe, and I think that this demonstrates his professionalism and integrity.

Thanks Dessie!


Kym Mccluskey
Belfast
24 Nov 2014
passed my test today thanks to Des!
Would highly recommend him to anyone, he is very encouraging and patient and he gave me the confidence I needed on the day of the test!


Macauley Kinnear
Belfast
6 May 2014
thanks to Des I passed first time with ease. He is a great teacher and is a great guy aswell. Would thoroughly recommend DKL!!


Aaron Hanna
7 Mar 2014
Des is a fantastic instructor and comes highly recommended. With an abundance of patience and an expert judgement of ability and pace, I never once felt like I was out of my depth!

30 hours of lessons later and I'm putting up my R plates after passing first time with only a few minor driving faults!

The price per lesson is pretty good too compared to other schools in my area (East Belfast) and you always get the full allocated time.

Another thing worth mentioning is the flexibility Des showed with my lesson times. He didn't charge me for cancellations either and picked me up and dropped me of in varying locations without a problem.

So if your looking for an instructor in Belfast Des is the man. I couldn't be any happier with my experience. Thanks Des.


Kat Hamill
None
14 Feb 2014
Des restored my faith in driving instructors after having two before him that really didnt teach me how to drive properly! I passed my test first time with him 🙂 he is a punctual and professional teacher! His teaching method is very calm and logical.. Thanks des!!


Siobhan Kenna
None
7 Jan 2014
Just passed my test first time today, all thanks to Des. He is an excellent instructor who is patient and takes time to perfect your driving skills. He made me feel at ease from my first lesson. He gave very useful tips and handouts to aid my learning. Would highly recommend to everyone!


Andrea Robinson
7 Aug 2013
I just passed my test today first time round, all thanks to Des. I really couldn't have done it without such a great instructor. Des was always reliable and punctual, not to mention patient with me and had faith in me and my abilities when I was stressing out before the test. I will definitely recommend Des to any new learners out there! This has overall been a very positive experience for me.

Andrea Robinson 07/08/2013.


Bel L1
14 Apr 2013
After more than ten years of driving lessons and feeling uncomfortable or taken advantage of with other instructors, I gave up learning to drive - until I embarked on lessons with Des at DKL. He gave me the confidence and
encouragement to believe in my capability to drive. He is patient yet challenges your ability to move you onwards in order to accomplish your test in your own time. He also teaches you all the tricks he has picked up over the years too, which have helped me greatly being on the roads on my own and with passengers. No other instructor would ever be as qualified as he is! The 'big business school's' claim that their drivers are up to' standard, although I have been with my share and none met up with their claims - until I started learning with DKL I found there was an astronomical difference in teachings! It has been a joy learning with him and wish I had have had him as my instructor when I was younger! The many helpful and informative things he has taught me have kept me safe on the road whilst driving on my own unattended as I am now the proud owner of my new car!


Anna liu
Belfast
21 Oct 2012
Before learning driving, I asked two of my friends for recommendation for driving instructors. By coincidence, both of them recommended DKL to me and it has proved to me that we will never go wrong with Des. Des is someone down to earth and hard working. He is a great instructor who is always encouraging and inspiring, who has smart ways of breaking things down and making them easy to understand, who is always punctual, patient and easy going. I’d definitely recommend Des to anyone who wants to learn driving as my friends have done!


Venita
Belfast
22 Sep 2012
A patient but challenging instructor who takes the lessons at your own pace. He offers great value for money and it never felt like he was counting the minutes.


Linsey McConnell
Belfast
13 Sep 2012
A big thank you to D K L driving school – Des is a very experienced driving instructor, he knows when to push you and when to slow down with your learning.
Des is very professional yet extremely approachable and down to earth which made me feel at ease from day one.
He is very flexible and will always arrange times to suit you.
As the test day was approaching and the nervous where setting in, Des was there to settle me, reassure me and prove to me that I could do it.
I passed my test on the 11th September 2012 1st time with only 6 minors, and as far as I am concerned all the credit goes to Des. He is a fantastic instructor and you won’t get this level of service from anywhere else.

Now I passed my driving test I will never forget how you helped me achieve my goal.

Thank you once again Des for all your help and support.

Linsey McConnell.


Michelle Chen
Belfast
29 Aug 2012
Highly recommended by my friend, Des became my 1st and only driving instructor. He is strict yet kind and patient, serious yet easy-going and humourous. He is an expert to use the simple way to solve the complex problem. He is an outstanding professional and DKL is an excellent driving school with great first time passing rate. And I am very happy to form part of that.


Sally O'Neill
Belfast
12 Jul 2011
After my first disastrous set of lessons years ago, I honestly didn't think I'd ever learn to drive. And yet with Des I passed first time. A wonderful, patient and very calming teacher for nervous learners. Can't recommend enough!
Useful


Chris Redden
Belfast
16 Apr 2011
DKL Driving school, Des, very professional, yet welcoming, instructor. Had time and patience, encouraging often and when needed. Flexible on times and lessons. Sharp eye for observation and assisting in corrections.
Lots of great and good things to be said about Des, without a dictionary i may struggle.
Highly recommend Des as a first instructor, or if your current one just doesn't seem right. Read More


Daniel Osborne
Belfast
7 Apr 2011
Des is the best.5 stars no doubt, I would recomend him to anyone. he really motored to get me through and slowed when i needed it, and got the wheels turning when i was ready, he was always there to steer me in the right direction. hes very patient and honest cheers once again man
Useful


Stephen Clarke
Belfast
4 Apr 2011
Des is an extremely patient and calm instructor with a manner that is professional and top class. Great car to drive very comfortable and reliable. You would be a fool not to use this guy. Thank you Des with great applause! Stephen Clarke Belfast.
Useful


Michelle Chen
Belfast
15 Jan 2011
Des, thank you very much for helping my husband pass his driving test. Much apprieciated.
Useful


Annette Carter
Belfast
20 Nov 2010
Without Des I never would have passed! Tried 3 other driving schools before and thanks to Des's calm, patient manner and professionalism I passed first go with him. I got 100% value for money and now feel like a confident driver. Thank you Des!
Useful


Bob Liu
Belfast
20 Jun 2010
Des, thank you very much for helping me pass my test in the 1st time. You've boosted my self confidence not only in driving, but also in life. Feel so lucky to have a chance to know such a great person like you in our lives! All the best with you, DKL!
Useful


Noreen McCann
Belfast
26 May 2010
I want to thank Des for getting me through my driving test, i passed first time! I would highly recommend DKL driving school.
Useful

Paula Grant
Belfast
23 Feb 2010
I would highly recommend dkl driving school, Des was a great instructor, honest and punctual. Big thank you for getting me through my driving test, i am so pleased.
Useful


Kerrie Norney
Belfast
19 Feb 2010
Big thanks to Des for getting me through my driving test, Couldn't have asked for a better instructor - brilliant. Very grateful 🙂
Useful


Donna Zhang
Belfast
24 Dec 2009
If you want to start your driving career, you can't find a better school than DKL. As a nervous mature learner, even I did it in one go with his support and encouragement. How amazing it is! Thanks to him, DKL!
Useful


Pat Leong
Belfast
5 Sep 2009
DKL came very highly recommended and was my last resort. Instructor was always punctual and did not shortchange on length of lesson.
Was also very patient and unfazed by any mistakes I made 🙂 Lessons included useful tips on defensive driving and theory test. When I did the tests, I passed both the theory and the practical driving easily. Bliss ! Everyone who knew me was convinced that it was a Read More
Useful


Seamus Omalley
Ballyclare
4 Sep 2009
Job done ! best of luck to all the guys at DKL who made it so easy for me. Seamus


Irene Macluskey
Belfast
4 Sep 2009
Thank you so much for helping my eldest son pass his test. Now he is finally out of my hair !
Having tired many driving schools before I turned to DKL in a desperate bid to pass and I did !! Big thanks
Useful


Neal Deacon
Belfast
19 Aug 2009
Big shout out to all of those at DKL driving school who helped me pass. Neal


Amanda Burlington
Newtownards
18 Aug 2009
DKL thank you so much for your support. I cant believe I passed ! OMG


Julie Doherty
Newtownards
10 Aug 2009
The bevvies are on me. Passed second time around. First time with DKL !!
Useful


Simon Stevens
Belfast
6 Aug 2009
Des thank you so much for boosting my confidence and getting me through it all. truly great experience thank you. and a pass !!

Joanne Miskelly
Belfast
6 Aug 2009
WOO HOO ! Passed first time - thanks !!


Anne-Marie Doherty
Belfast
23 May 2009
Superb team.


Matthew Johnston
Dungannon
3 Feb 2009
Des provided an excellent, confident service for a total beginner I would recommend him to anyone who feels nervous about learning to drive. Keep up the good work Des.


Rosie Gough
Belfast
20 Jan 2009
having tried a previous driving school i know that DKL is excellent in many ways the instructor was so down to earth, he had alot of experience and he was very honest. He was always on time and arranged days and times to suit both of you. No1 if u ask me anything. I passed my driving test first time with him with just 6 minors. I would recommend him to anyone considering their test or even Read More
Useful